Clear Motivation

"Be kind whenever possible. It's always possible" – The Dalai Lama

Seeking Refuge in the Awakening Mind

Leave a comment

I will use this teaching to motivate my actions throughout the day –

Bodhicitta (literally, “the mind/heart of awakening/enlightenment”) is a mind with the intention to attain the fully purified and perfected state of a Buddha in order to be able to benefit all sentient beings.

Today, I will reflect on the advantages of developing this mind. I will strengthen my confidence that it is the most worthwhile endeavor. I will show myself that it is possible to develop it. And I’ll let it guide my actions throughout the day, taking my focus away from my own self-centered concerns and looking towards others as the object of my care. All the while, I’ll keep in mind the long-term intention that dedicates my actions as causes to progress towards the fully awakened state.

Author: Jonathan Owen

Just another human being.

Leave a Reply

