Clear Motivation

"Be kind whenever possible. It's always possible" – The Dalai Lama

Kindness Faces the Storm

Leave a comment

Tonight, I reflect on the kindness of others as snow billows down. On the television, this storm is made out to be a big event. I don’t think it’s so incredible – it’s just a natural phenomenon. Snow snows. All over the universe snow snows.

What we have here that merits true awe is the fact that the there’s a blizzard and no one (or at least, very few) people are dying. I am sitting in a room with heat, light, friends, food, water, books, a computer. And nothing done from my side contributed to the creation of these things.

Other people have exerted themselves with much effort to produce the items that are keeping me alive, contented, and cozy. People have learned how to manipulate the five elements and the raw materials of our earth to suit the needs of their brothers and sisters. I’m the recipient of the fruits of thousands of years of experimentation and careful designing.

Looking at the types of living beings we can see and recalling the human history that is known makes evident the extreme rarity of these circumstances. Tonight, I feel grateful. I’ll generate the wish to repay the kindness of others by cultivating great love and compassion and sharing those through my actions.

Understanding that this situation is transient and fragile, I endeavor to not take it for granted, but to really use this situation to progressively improve my capacity to be of service to others.

Author: Jonathan Owen

Just another human being.

Leave a Reply

